Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4 out of 5)
12 reviewed STEM Discovery: San Francisco
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
  1. Superb STEM

    Two weeks ago I took twenty-one 10 year old students to San Francisco for the STEM Challenge Tour. It was amazing and the most fun I've had as a Tour Leader. San Francisco is beautiful in the summer and a nice change from the heat in Texas. I was apprehensive that the tour would not be appropriate for ten year olds, but they were fully engaged in every activity from the Handstand Scavenger Hunt to the Exploratorium, 3-D Imaging and Printing and learning about pitching ideas for Start-up Incubators at Plug and Play. Muir Woods was serene and breathtaking. At times we pushed ourselves out of our comfort zones by walking across the Golden Gate Bridge and driving up and down the mountains and canyons, but it is an experience we all will never forget. I can't wait to take another group back to San Francisco and do it all over again!!!
    Bronco2Raptor / Group leader
    Laredo, TX / Posted on August 13, 2018
  2. Awesome Trip

    This is the best trip for me so far! Lots of learning and awesome sights!
    Dammy / Student traveler
    Illinois / Posted on April 01, 2019
  3. Great fun in San Fran!

    Attended the STEM trip to San Fran and had a great time. Fav parts were the Fisherman's Wharf area for shopping & eating; touring the city; Exploratorium; Muir Woods; SFMOMA; and Academy of Sciences Tour. Disliked not having more time at some of the landmark areas during the city tour; food options for dinner where not always the best and dining was pricey (was expected, though).
    1sponsor / Group leader
    Independence, MO / Posted on July 24, 2018
  4. A good time but not without some flaws

    We visited wonderful sites and enjoyed our time in San Francisco. The tour guides and driver were friendly and informative. The time schedules were kept well. Our group was given plenty of time in some sites, such as Pier 39 and the Aquarium, but not enough in other places, such as the Exploratorium and the Museum of Art. All in all, our experience was very nice.
    imr901 / Adult traveler
    Collierville, TN / Posted on July 19, 2018
  5. Challenges were Overcome by Incredible Sights

    Our trip to San Francisco included all of the major sites a person should see in San Francisco. I was impressed that we were able to get to see so much! Unfortunately, our first day/night of the trip we found out that changes to our schedule meant we wouldn't be able to do some things. We also had some confusion with what we would be able to do. Then, when we got to the hotel, rooms were not prepared properly, and keys for our rooms were given to other guests. I appreciated that this was the fault of the hotel, not our guide. Our guide was very quick to help us find another hotel that provided more trust. I appreciated his attentiveness and his making sure he contacted the home office. Still, I was concerned that the rooms had not been checked on properly before our trip by the home office personnel. The home office did not call our lead chaperone back for several days, even while things were confusing. We were given compensation for the trouble, but it was ice cream, not a real refund or contact from the home office in a timely fashion. Even with all of that happening in the first day - we were able to have some amazing experiences and the children were not negatively impacted by the hotel situation. Our visits to each site had multiple children saying that was their favorite. I felt that the trip to Autodesk was really a once in a lifetime experience, especially for the young artist or scientist. I was amazed at the quality of the places we sight saw at. I would not take a single item off the list as far as that goes. The dining and accommodation options could improve.

    I wouldn't want to miss Autodesk, Alcatraz - with the most incredible guided tour ever, or the Exploratorium. There was so much there. I just wish it could have been presented well the first couple of days. The kids didn't need to be worried they couldn't see something, or about any of what was happening that was uncertain. The tour guides can talk with the chaperones more privately about that.
    Annk / Adult traveler
    Michigan / Posted on June 29, 2018
  6. Wonderful Trip!

    My daughter and I had an amazing time in San Francisco. Our tour guide was fantastic. Our bus driver was wonderful too. Our schedule was jam packed with activities that were truly enjoyable. It was the most stress free vacation I have ever been on. I would recommend EF tours to anyone!
    JeBo / Adult traveler
    Idaho / Posted on June 28, 2018
  7. Experience

    I thought it was very unfair with all the money that was spent on a trip like this and breakfast, lunch and dinner were all suppose to be included. The first day there at the airport the kids were responsible for their own lunch. And also my son informed me they were allowed $10 for lunch and dinner (breakfast was included at the hotel), and we are from Idaho and you cant even hardly get a meal here for that much money i cant imagine in San Fransico! So my son along with other kids had to pitch in their own money for every meal. This is not something i would do again. To much money and not what we were told.
    2018mom / Parent
    Rathdrum,Idaho / Posted on June 25, 2018
  8. Fantastic Experience

    This was a great trip. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable of the area and worked hard to provide us a unique experience that met the needs of our group. He was also the time keeper, which was great because we were able to visit and experience so many great places. I really appreciate the effort put in by him and the EF company. We had an issue with our hotel and our guide and EF company worked all night to find a solution. By the time we woke in the morning, it was all figured out. EF really took the hassle out of traveling. It was a fantastic experience.
    NN11 / Adult traveler
    Rathdrum, ID / Posted on June 24, 2018
  9. San Francisco Tour

    The San Francisco tour was a really good trip to go on. I got to learn new things I never would have researched. I liked that we went all around to different locations and those locations never felt the same. I didn't like that we only went to the hotel after we were done with the day. Overall the trip was a fun one and if I could go again to a different location I would.
    Jaco / Student traveler
    Rathdrum, Idaho / Posted on June 24, 2018
  10. Stem tour 2018

    I really enjoyed watching the kiddos on this trip experience so many new things as we explored Science, Technology, Engineering, and math. So many opportunities are available for students in these fields! I would do it again!
    Poohbear / Group leader
    Plains Kansas / Posted on June 17, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?