Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (3.7 out of 5)
27 reviewed San Francisco: City by the Bay
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
  1. Wonderful time!

    San Francisco is a great city to visit. The best part is the precious my daughter and I have made. From the tour guide and bus driver to the locations to visit, this was a wonderful experience.
    Missy13 / Adult traveler
    Franklin, GA / Posted on June 11, 2017
  2. Great experience

    For the amount of time we where there, we got to see so many things. The only thing that I could change is the amount of time that we got to send at certain places. Some places we got too much time and another places we didn't get that much time.
    Jon24 / Student traveler
    Concord, NC / Posted on March 31, 2017
  3. Great Trip!

    Our trip to San Francisco was AMAZING!! I have been on many school field trips, and this was by far the best one. Our tour guide and bus driver were both on point the whole time, and we saw some amazing things!! Thank you!!
    maboone / Adult traveler
    Hoover, AL / Posted on January 19, 2017
  4. Poorly organized

    Our tour advertised a tour at Alcatraz, which was the main reason many of the students decided to go. We were told a week or two before our trip that they (EF) was not able to purchase enough tickets for the Alcatraz tour. We had finalized all of our information with our travelers early, at least 3 months prior to our trip.
    We had a very early flight and arrived in San Francisco by 9am. We were told the only thing on our itinerary for the day was to go to Union Square. That only took about an hour and that is including the time that it took us to drive there from the airport. Our tour guide suggested that we ride the cable car, but, that would be an or of pocket expense as it was not included. Later in the week we were rushed from the Science Academy to the Tech Museum in San Jose with very little time at each. It would have been nice to have had the extra time from our first day be used at the Science Academy so could actually see more of what they had to offer.
    Our last day became an issue because our flight wasn't until midnight. The bus driver was told that she was to drop us off at the airport at 5. (So we were supposed to sit at the airport for 7 hours?????) Again, wasted time. O9r school teacher, the bus driver, and the EF for guide collaborated and came up with a plan that worked. It seemed as if things were poorly organized. We should have been given a daily itinerary that we could follow and not just wing it like we're had to.
    Rugs223 / Adult traveler
    St. Francis, MN / Posted on June 24, 2018
  5. Wonderful

    This was an experience that my child and I will never forget
    We enjoyed visiting San Francisco and seeing different cultures live together. I
    Carp / Adult traveler
    Newnan Georgia / Posted on June 20, 2017
  6. FUN FUN FUN!!

    I loved it!
    ZAH05 / Student traveler
    Dresden, TN / Posted on June 16, 2017
  7. lots of memories

    I am a mother doing this review after talking to my child. The child had loads of fun and made many great memories. The group leader was outstanding and knew what she was doing. The tour guide did a great job as well. The child was disappointed that the group was not able to go to Alcatraz as this was mentioned several times as a hi-light of the trip. I am not sure of all the details, something about a new system of ordering tickets? I believe a trip to the aquarium was substituted for this, but in my personal opinion, it hardly is a substitute for Alcatraz. I do understand things happen, but I believe this should have been checked and made known to the group ahead of time.
    I heard the food was great and each child on the trip had a great time. You can't ask for more than that!!! Thank you for the service you provide!!
    coolj / Parent
    Tennessee / Posted on June 15, 2017
  8. Great Trip

    This was an excellent trip. Our bus driver and tour guide were organized and well-informed. I would recommend this trip to my friends and family.
    HickoryNut / Adult traveler
    Franklin, GA / Posted on June 12, 2017
  9. Loved it!!!

    Loved it!!!
    Tine / Adult traveler
    Newnan, Georgia / Posted on June 09, 2017
  10. Too Much "Free" Time

    Our guide was knowledgeable and made the trip fun for both adults and students. However, there was far too much "free" time which was really shopping time in the various areas. We could have added other sites and interesting locations instead of hours and hours of shopping time!
    JosieG / Adult traveler
    Grayson, GA / Posted on March 14, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?