Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.2 out of 5)
22 reviewed Inauguration 2021: New York & D.C.
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
  1. Another Amazing Inauguration!!!

    This was my second Inauguration trip with Smithsonian, and once again, it exceeded my expectations!
    Although I have traveled on countless tours with Smithsonian before, the unique thing about the Inauguration is that you REALLY have to be flexible. It seems that the people at Smithsonian have put their heads together and tried to anticipate any situation that may arise and be prepared for it at a moments notice.
    I truly appreciated the way that the Smithsonian representatives were spread throughout the city, so that when my group had difficulty getting through the streets and onto the National Mall, we were able to be met at the nearest Metro station by Smithsonian people who were purchasing our tickets so that we could get on the train quickly. We made it to the National Mall in perfect timing to see the ceremony begin! It's that type of personal service that makes Smithsonian stand out!
    Although unforeseen obstacles occurred at various times throughout the week, Smithsonian always made an effort to rectify any situations that caused difficulty. I truly appreciated that!
    Like I said, it was another amazing Inauguration experience!!! Can't wait to do it again!!
    Butterfly / Group leader
    Sherman Oaks, CA / Posted on January 27, 2013
  2. Revisits Are Awesome!

    I have already been to DC once before. Going again with SST gave me more knowledge than I had ever hoped to gain by doing the tour alone. Thank you!!
    CPlay14 / Student traveler
    Houston, TX / Posted on March 07, 2013
  3. Awesome Time!!

    I think the tour was really, really amazing!! To me it was unbelieveable to see all the amazing monuments in DC that I've only ever seen in pictures. The inaguration was spectacular. We got to see the President (even though it was from far away) and experienced history being made. My personal favorite part was the Inagural ball! There was amazing music and I made friends from all over the country. There was also sooooooo many cute boys!!! :D The drive to NYC was long but we stopped in Philly for lunch. That was also really cool because its so different from LA. New York was also super crazy, cold, and awesome. It was just like you see in the movies. We even go to go ice skating at 30Rock!! Leaving was really sad, but when we got home it felt really good to be able to say, "I was there."
    viviana / Student traveler
    Los Angeles, California / Posted on February 16, 2013
  4. Proud to be an American.

    The trip made us all proud to be a part of the democratic structure of American Government. We were very proud Americans and I was especially proud that my students knew the faces and names to the leadership of our Federal Government. We had a great trip through D.C. and onto NYC. The whole experience is still buzzing through our halls. Please note we traveled January 2013 to the Inauguration, the travel year below did not go to 2013.
    Longhorns / Group leader
    Fort Benton, MT / Posted on January 30, 2013
  5. absolutely amazing

    so far the funnest thing i think ive ever done. it was totally worth it. i would recommend it to all my friends. it was an amazing experience.
    DCandNY / Student traveler
    Posted on January 28, 2013
  6. Great Experience!

    I recently took a trip to Washington D.C. for the 2013 Presidential Inauguration, which included a visit to the Big Apple - we had a great time traveling with our tour guide, enjoyed ourselves and learned a lot!
    LAnderson / Adult traveler
    Columbus, GA / Posted on January 28, 2013
  7. Unforgettable experience of a lifetime

    Our tour director was very insightful and charismatic. He asked us many challenging questions to which I learned a plethora of critical and captivating facts! The way he conveyed the seriousness of Arlington Cemetery was intimately moving. Our bus driver, recieved much praise from our group. She is exceptionally professional.

    However, I was unimpressed with the amount of improv that we had to do with our activities. The weather may have been a driving factor of the changes, but it seemed at times there was just not enough planning. ie. where to go after the inuaguration as we had nearly five hours until our next activity.
    Shalala / Student traveler
    GILBERT, AZ / Posted on January 27, 2013
  8. Average

    Tour Guide not as knowledgable as expected; went to same monuments twice and did not get to see everything. Not enough time at some things. Planning around MLK timing was bad. Not as flexible as expected. Dinner and breakfast choices not good. Hotel and travel (bus and plane) were good. Felt safe during trip.
    Cate / Student traveler
    Monroe WI / Posted on January 27, 2013
  9. Great Experience

    I had a great experience, and I would definatly go on a tour like this again. I cannot believe all the fun I had. However there was quite a bit of walking, therefor I was very tired day to day. Nevertheless it was alright becuase the fun made up for it. I would do this again in a heartbeat. This experience has shown me that going on tour with my school can be fun, and therefor I will be going on more in the future.
    By the way my tour was in 2013, but the web site would not alow me to choose that option. The only reason I went on this tour actually was because of the presidential inaguration, nevertheless there was so much more then just that, and I am glad I went.
    Tats / Student traveler
    Denver, CO / Posted on January 27, 2013
  10. Exhausting, but wonderful

    DC/NYC tour was terrific, tour director added tremendous value. For a grandparent, the pace was pretty relentless. The kids got a lot of exposure to DC monuments and history. As a Veteran, the visits to Iwo Jima memorial and Arlington were very moving. NYC guide was very knowledgeable. The stop at The Metropolitan Museum could be changed to something more middle school age appropriate. Overall a great experience for kids and adults. NOTE: Date of tour was Jan 2013. Box below does not include 2013.
    Wolfhat / Adult traveler
    Torrance, CA / Posted on January 27, 2013

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?