Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
155 reviewed Washington, D.C. and Philadelphia
5 stars
101
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
6
  1. Excellent!

    This was a great trip. EF tours had it all planned out and even handled the on the fly changes due to any unforeseen circumstances. From the start of the day all the way through the day they had it planned out so no one felt bored. Our group enjoyed the newsuem, the Smithsonian building, Mount Vernon, and etc..
    Our group leaders were very knowledgeable of the area and its little facts about the area. Even helped out with suggestions as to places to eat. (with a large group this comes in handy.)
    A short trip to Baltimore and we got to enjoy a cruise. This was a great addition to relax to.
    Even with a large group the Tour directors and its leaders made this feel like a family trip, right down to our bus driver making sure everyone was OK and on time.
    With all EF had planned, in what seemed like a short time, they fit in a lot and kept us busy all the while we could sit back and relax never once felt rushed.
    Thank you EF tours!
    Bostonsports / Adult traveler
    Bellingham Mass / Posted on June 20, 2018
  2. A Dream Trip!

    My EF Explore America experience was just like a dream! I saw everything I've ever imagined and more. I never thought I'd be able to experience anything like it but the people at EF have made it possible. Getting to go sight seeing in New York was the greatest part for me; but, coming back home safe was even better. I thought that traveling with them was a great choice and I was right! Not only did I learn awesome things about history, get to experience some historical moments first hand, and see the best sights these places had to offer, but I felt protected the entire time. It truly was a great experience I will always remember for the rest of my life. My family is very greatful for everything and so am I.
    Salamander / Student traveler
    Fort Worth, TX / Posted on July 21, 2017
  3. Unbelievable experience

    This trip was a dream come true. The tour guide was amazing. Seeing the students so engaged made the trip worth it. Everything was well organized and we didn't have any problems with hotels or meals. There is nothing I didn't like about this trip. Thank you EF for an amazing experience for students and teachers alike.
    GValadez / Adult traveler
    Fort Worth, Texas / Posted on June 23, 2017
  4. Another successful DC trip

    This is the 4th time I have taken 8th graders to Philadelphia and Washington, DC with EF. The quality of each trip has been excellent, and even though each trip has been a little bit different, the kids every year enjoy it thoroughly and learn a lot about our country's history as well as how to be a good traveler and tourist.
    ranaloca / Group leader
    Coventry, CT / Posted on June 05, 2017
  5. DC, Gettysburg & Philly

    In the words of my teen age son "This trip was awesome." We started out in DC - you must see the Lincoln monument, WWII, Vietnam and Korea memorials at night - we saw them both day and night and the night time experience was breathtaking. Experiencing the changing of the guards at the tomb of the unknown soldier was very moving. My son enjoyed Mount Vernon the most - walking through history. If you are in PA do an Amish experience - surprisingly this was the only film all the group stayed awake through! The food during the Amish Experience was the best on the trip - it was served family style so if we were almost out they brought us more.
    MySonsMom / Adult traveler
    Madera CA / Posted on June 25, 2016
  6. She loved it

    My daughter has a WONDERFUL time in DC. She loved every minute of it. The only disappointment we had was when one of the tour guides actually encouraged the students to protest in front of the White House. She said they should "use their right to protest if they felt like she did" as she didn't like the President. I don't think it was appropriate for an adult (especially tour guide staff) to encourage anything like that. The trip to DC should be about learning history and respecting our nation. Negativity and personal opinions shouldn't be projected onto the students.
    Mel914 / Student traveler
    Bellingham, Ma / Posted on July 04, 2018
  7. AWESOME trip!!!!

    Enjoyed this trip completely, saw more than expected. Howard our tour director was amazing and full of so much information. Howard was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. If he was not sure, he found out in a timely manner. So appreciated his energy & personality. Thank you!
    Pengwen / Adult traveler
    Castro Valley, CA / Posted on June 25, 2018
  8. Wonderful Exsperience

    Being someone who really loves history it was quite the experience. I feel honored to get to experience this with my daughter. Our tour guide Adrien was wonderful, knowlegable, all around amazing person.
    My daughter and I learned so much. DC,Gettysburg, and Philadephia were so much to take in. I glad we had all my daughter's friends to experience this with. Something we will always remember. Thank you EF
    MissMom / Adult traveler
    Dallas Oregon / Posted on June 25, 2018
  9. Washington DC

    I thoroughly enjoyed my trip. The food at the restaurants were delicious!
    The hotel was not so good. Lots of broken items such as lamps, door locks, and door latches. It was also dirty.
    Bus driver got lost a bit. They were yelling at each other which didn't help.
    Would like to have had more time at the museums.
    Crafty / Adult traveler
    Bellingham MA / Posted on June 21, 2018
  10. Good experience

    The flight was cool, the itinerary was filled with great daily tours and the overall experience awesome. I would definitely the Washington D.C. trip to all my friends and family too.
    YYYY / Student traveler
    Castro Valley, CA / Posted on June 19, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?