Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
1312 reviewed Washington, D.C. and New York
5 stars
869
4 stars
292
3 stars
90
2 stars
33
1 star
28
  1. Unforgettable

    I have to say most importantly that our tour guide was the best of the best. I don’t think there is anybody out there like or better then her. The trip was overall amazing from start to finish. We did a ton of walking and a ton of sightseeing. I my son and I learned so much more then what your taught in school. We met great people and came home with fulfillment. I’m so glad we took this trip. It was a wonderful finding experience and helped my son get out of his shell.
    Gigi85 / Adult traveler
    Houston Texas / Posted on August 01, 2018
  2. History packed trip

    I had a great time with my daughters on this historical sightseeing trip to Washington DC and New York City. I cannot believe all we did in the few days we traveled, but after recounting our events - it was ALOT! Our tour guide made it all the better with historical facts and fun stories to go along with each site. I felt like he got to know each person and group on the trip, which created great fun and adventure. This trip is one we will never forget.
    teesaw / Adult traveler
    Seattle, WA / Posted on July 23, 2018
  3. Memorable trip!

    I took this trip with my daughter and it was our first visit to the East coast. We loved this trip and the places we visited. Our guide was very knowledgeable about each of the places and of the people there. I underestimated the amount of walking we would be doing, especially on our first day, about 11-12 miles in 8 hours! We saw so many historic places and learned the history behind each place. While in New York City, we attended a broadway show-something we’ve never done. If you want a personalized tour, take one with your children thru this company! We felt safe no matter where we were.
    Iowa99 / Adult traveler
    Latimer, Iowa / Posted on July 19, 2018
  4. DC/NY 8th grade

    My son actually texted in to us everyday exclaiming how awesome and exciting each day was ... Each one surpassing the previous days experiences. For him to be so willing to share his awe was very special for us! ; - )
    Janice / Student traveler
    Chicago / Posted on July 02, 2018
  5. Great Experience

    My daughter had so much fun and was able to enjoy most of the sites in DC as well as New York. She sent me photos at each stop and when she came home she told me about the entire trip. The payment plans were great and allowed you to pay for the trip monthly. They even have a link for family and friends to contribute. The tour guides and security were great and I was never concerned about my daughters safety.
    They really crammed a lot of events in 4 days. The trip was well planned and parents received the itinerary prior to the trip so you knew where your children would be during the tour. They took a ferry ride and enjoyed a night at the theater. They saw Phantom of the Opera. This was a great way to end her 8th Grade year.
    Mone1 / Student traveler
    Arlington Texas / Posted on June 26, 2018
  6. Best time ever!

    Great trip. We got to see so much. Our tour guide, Steve, was awesome. I felt safe the entire time. I wish we had had even more time to explore.
    jbmorg / Student traveler
    Elk City, OK / Posted on June 26, 2018
  7. Excellent Exhaustion!

    Just got back from 5 days in DC and NYC. We walked 42 miles and saw countless national and historical treasures! We even got to hear former President, Bill Clinton speak at Arlington National Cemetery! Our tour guide was outstanding and geared our trip for any individual requests. He helped find the grave of a family member, the best shops for the souvenirs we sought, and where to find the cleanest restrooms. I’m so glad I got to experience this trip with not only my students, but my own son. The memories will last a lifetime.
    DramaReese / Adult traveler
    Coppell, TX / Posted on June 13, 2018
  8. Growth and XP points

    Tatum came home a new person. She was bursting with confidence. She negotiated Times Square. She ordered lunches from vendors. She managed her own money wisely. She left a spunky 11-year-old girl and came home a knowledgeable and still spunky 11-year-old young lady. Thanks for all the experience points.
    MamaE / Adult traveler
    Sapulpa OK / Posted on May 20, 2018
  9. Fun and Busy!

    My son and I recently went on an EF Explore America tour to Washington DC and New York City, and had a really great time. All of the details were planned out well, and yet we had flexibility to change the schedule when weather forced a cancellation on one of our tours. The tour director was able to reschedule for the following day, and took our wishes into account when planning excursions for the final day of the trip. The tour director was amazing with the kids and the parents, and our bus driver was a pro at navigating traffic in two busy, congested cities. I highly recommend the trip to other families!
    MinnesotaMom / Adult traveler
    Oakdale, MN / Posted on April 23, 2018
  10. Eye opening and Educational

    This was one of the greatest experiences for my students. My students attend an at-risk school which means that 80% or more of my students are below the poverty line. Some of the parents have not finished high school or are not in the picture at all. This experience, to explore and learn about different parts of American culture, is a life-altering experience for my students. I would strongly suggest that any and every school implement EF to widen their students' world view and give them a chance to learn way more than they could learn from a textbook or google.
    KaeJae / Group leader
    Lafayette, Louisiana / Posted on April 10, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?