Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
1304 reviewed Washington, D.C. and New York
5 stars
862
4 stars
291
3 stars
90
2 stars
33
1 star
28
  1. Excellent Exhaustion!

    Just got back from 5 days in DC and NYC. We walked 42 miles and saw countless national and historical treasures! We even got to hear former President, Bill Clinton speak at Arlington National Cemetery! Our tour guide was outstanding and geared our trip for any individual requests. He helped find the grave of a family member, the best shops for the souvenirs we sought, and where to find the cleanest restrooms. I’m so glad I got to experience this trip with not only my students, but my own son. The memories will last a lifetime.
    DramaReese / Adult traveler
    Coppell, TX / Posted on June 13, 2018
  2. Growth and XP points

    Tatum came home a new person. She was bursting with confidence. She negotiated Times Square. She ordered lunches from vendors. She managed her own money wisely. She left a spunky 11-year-old girl and came home a knowledgeable and still spunky 11-year-old young lady. Thanks for all the experience points.
    MamaE / Adult traveler
    Sapulpa OK / Posted on May 20, 2018
  3. Fun and Busy!

    My son and I recently went on an EF Explore America tour to Washington DC and New York City, and had a really great time. All of the details were planned out well, and yet we had flexibility to change the schedule when weather forced a cancellation on one of our tours. The tour director was able to reschedule for the following day, and took our wishes into account when planning excursions for the final day of the trip. The tour director was amazing with the kids and the parents, and our bus driver was a pro at navigating traffic in two busy, congested cities. I highly recommend the trip to other families!
    MinnesotaMom / Adult traveler
    Oakdale, MN / Posted on April 23, 2018
  4. Eye opening and Educational

    This was one of the greatest experiences for my students. My students attend an at-risk school which means that 80% or more of my students are below the poverty line. Some of the parents have not finished high school or are not in the picture at all. This experience, to explore and learn about different parts of American culture, is a life-altering experience for my students. I would strongly suggest that any and every school implement EF to widen their students' world view and give them a chance to learn way more than they could learn from a textbook or google.
    KaeJae / Group leader
    Lafayette, Louisiana / Posted on April 10, 2018
  5. First Tour Fabulous!

    I couldn't have asked for a better first time tour! My students were engaged and excited from the first minute of the first bus ride. Our Tour Director was enthusiastic, funny, and energetic, so the kids developed a great rapport with him. Many of my student now want to move to New York after high school, and several more have told me the "get" what it means to be an American. The experiences in DC, like the Capitol Tour and Monunments were impactful to my students and me, reminding us why our country was founded. I saw NYC through different eyes as my students explored and became "true" New Yorkers through their love of street food, subway rides, and ability to navigate crowded museums and sites with ease. Oh, and there are now 12 more Broadway babies in the world! Definitely recommend! We all grew as people, students and adults!
    SoCalTeacherGirl / Group leader
    Riverside, CA / Posted on April 10, 2018
  6. Wow... just wow..

    This was one of the best things I have done in my life and I'm sad it ended so quick. The tour was great including the most enthusiastic and caring tour guide! I even met new friends with some of the other group who went with us. I loved the the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum mainly because it shows so much history and how aviation evolved through the world. And some other cool and maybe awesome thing was the Vice Pressident walked passed our group on our Capitol Building tour... wow
    maiL / Student traveler
    Renton, Washington / Posted on July 03, 2017
  7. Pure Fun!

    When I received the itinerary for this trip I was super excited! When I was actually able to see and experience the places that I had only viewed in pictures and postcards, I was beyond amazed! Being able to climb the steps of the Jefferson Memorial and see my own reflection in the Lincoln Memorial Reflecting Pool were things that I never knew I wanted to do until I actually did it. Getting acclimated to the hustle and bustle of the New York streets was hectic and astonishing, especially when I found myself in the very busy Times Square. The only negatives to this trip are that I was disappointed when I found out we couldn't go inside the new National Museum of African American History and Culture and sometimes felt uncomfortable with all the walking and the heat but that didn't compare to the fun and the memories that I got to have and share with my friends.
    Mysti / Student traveler
    Overland Park, Kansas / Posted on July 01, 2017
  8. Great Trip and Amazing Experience

    As a parent of a home school highschool student, this was a trip I wanted my son to experience. And, as a parent, I wanted to experience the trip with him. EF definitely provides you with experience of a lifetime and its up to each individual to take advantage of all there is to see and do. Our tour guide, was fantastic. He related to both parents and students and took the time to explain every detail. He also knew both Washington D.C. and NY and was able to give informative information. AND, he was a good listener. Our bus driver for six days, was equally awesome and professional. The only drawback, in my opinion, is the hectic pace. I do think there should have been at least one day, may be the last day, where the students could sleep in and prepare for the trip home. I say this because there is a lot of walking and we tend to get back to the hotel around 9:30pm. Overall, as a parent, the chaperones, tour guide and the way EF set up the tour was great. Each child was safe and the students in our group listened and got along well. If you're a parent and have free time, I'd suggest you making this trip with your child. Let them mingle with the other kids while you explore on your own or with a teacher or another parent. I also enjoyed touring with groups from Kansas and Arkansas. You won't be disappointed. (Also, I would not recommend booking another tour with Ramada Inn International in New Jersey. Not a very clean hotel...especially the guest rooms).
    CaliforniaMom / Adult traveler
    California / Posted on June 29, 2017
  9. Super fun and awesome!

    It was an amazing experience, and I'm so glad I was able to attend the trip! One of my favorite parts was the Broadway show, because it was really cool and fun to watch. I also liked getting to visit the Smithsonian Museums, because it was fun getting to look at different things, like the Hope Diamond, and Spaceship parts. Overall I enjoyed the trip, and highly suggest it to anyone who is thinking of attending the trip!
    Gidget / Student traveler
    Palm Desert, CA / Posted on June 21, 2017
  10. Great experience!

    I had so much fun and got to see a lot of history in 5 days.
    Jazzyrosem / Student traveler
    Dodge City. KS / Posted on July 19, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?