Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
149 reviewed Washington, D.C. and Gettysburg
5 stars
106
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
1
  1. School Administrator

    Wow! I loved everything about this trip! It was so well organized and accommodating for the 70+ students and teachers. The EF guides were friendly, fun, knowledgable and most of all flexible. Overall, this is the best way to see DC! Our students and staff had a blast!
    Twolf / Adult traveler
    Suburbs of Chicago, IL / Posted on June 01, 2017
  2. So much fun!

    Overall this trip was so much fun. I liked seeing all of these different monuments and memorials I had never seen before. I also liked learning all of these differently facts that you wouldn't know by just going with your family. I didn't like how fast it went, but I understand that they only had 3 days to jam pack the weekend. I went to Washington D.C. over the Memorial Day weekend so we saw all of the bikers and motorcycles there! It was a truly amazing am doing interesting experience! I would totally recommend.
    Lorenzo / Student traveler
    Arlington Heights, Illinois / Posted on May 31, 2017
  3. Excellent Tour of Philly and DC!

    Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and full of energy. The tour guide and director were excellent with keeping us on schedule without feeling too rushed. I feel the students received beyond what was expected. Our driver was excellent as well. We always felt safe. I cannot wait until next year's trip.
    NHChaperone / Adult traveler
    Pelham, NH / Posted on May 08, 2017
  4. Whirlwind of learning!

    I am amazed at how many things we were able to see, do, and experience in such a short time. Our tour guide really knew how to schedule activities and manage times so that we could see things, get from place to place and minimize waiting while maximizing seeing! Great trip!
    Iowagal / Adult traveler
    Knoxville, Iowa / Posted on April 19, 2017
  5. Mind Opening Experience

    Seeing students taking pictures at the Korean Memorial and discussing the intensity of the statues made me realize how deeply the students were internalizing the sacrifices of our soldiers. Then Gettysburg caused another wave of understanding and so the whole week went - mind opening!
    MommaJo / Group leader
    Jefferson City, Missouri / Posted on March 29, 2017
  6. #LATravel

    I couldn’t have asked for a better experience for my students. The time we had in all of our destinations was perfect, and even left many wanting more — a great design if your goal is to kindle an incurable wanderlust :)
    irhiker / Group leader
    Las Animas, Colorado / Posted on June 18, 2018
  7. EF Does It Again

    This is my third year using EF as our school's tour company, and each year they have improved. Our consultant throughout the year recognizes our unique population and its needs and has done her best two years straight to do all in her power to make sure our families' sign up process is a smooth and efficient one.

    This year, our guide Nicole was the best of the three we have had. She was so engaging with the kids, but also held them accountable when they needed to be. She was incredibly flexible with out plans and adjusted well on the fly. When we ran into challenges, rare because she was so proactive, she responded accordingly and promptly.

    We'll be back.
    BergieFan37 / Group leader
    Lincoln, MA / Posted on June 06, 2018
  8. Visited great sites!

    The hotel accommodations and food were below average.
    Alan / Student traveler
    Arlington Heights, IL / Posted on June 03, 2018
  9. Wouldn't do it again

    It was a good experience for my son to go on this trip but it was too rushed. Way, way, way too much walking and while we were told this ahead of time my son didn't really realize the pace and amount of walking involved. L think leaving the night before would have been better.
    What / Adult traveler
    Posted on June 03, 2018
    Traveler Support Team
    Traveler Support Team

    Thank you for your review. For over 50 years we have designed our tour itineraries to get the most out of each destination. In order to make sure we cover these components, it is important that we make the most of time on tour, which mean there is a lot of fast- paced walking each day. If traveling as a private group, there is a bit more flexibility in terms of adapting the pace. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear your child had a good experience overall!

  10. Would recommend more DC

    The trip was good but the highlight was the air and space museum. I would recommend EF ditch the Gettysburg excursion. That’s a long drive and there is so much more to see in DC. A day at the Smithsonian museums would be a great substitute. Also would help if it’s a terribly rainy day. Unfortunately. They had a lot of rain this year and that made for a long damp day.
    RainyDC / Student traveler
    ArlingtonHeights, IL / Posted on June 03, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?