Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
1130 reviewed Washington, D.C.: The Capital Tour
5 stars
767
4 stars
245
3 stars
67
2 stars
32
1 star
19
  1. Incredible Experience

    This tour was a fantastic experience for our middle school students. They've learned all about US History in class this year, but getting out of the classroom to the memorials and historic sites of our nation's capital city brought those lessons to life and formed authentic connections to curriculum that simply could not happen otherwise. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, personable and responsive to the needs and interests of our young students. We can't wait to travel with EF again!
    Roberta / Group leader
    Salt Lake City, Utah / Posted on June 23, 2018
  2. Bringing History Alive

    Before this trip, I was certain I would never do another school trip as I only had 6 people sign up. While on the trip, we saw everything, had an amazing tour director (guide) that really knew how to make everyone interested in everything we passed. I had never been to Washington DC before and this was the way to do it. When I talk about it with people who had been there before, I know things that they don't about how certain memorials, monuments, and statues were made or why they were made this way. I have information that I will be able to bring back to my classroom also. I would 100% plan another trip with another group to Washington DC!
    MsClaf / Group leader
    Shoreview, MN / Posted on June 20, 2018
  3. Great Experience

    I am a high school American History teacher and I took 10 students on this tour. They had an absolute blast. Our tour director was knowledgeable and fun to be around. He related well to all of the students on our bus. He was also very flexible with our itinerary, especially considering that it rained an entire day. He was open to suggestions and got up with myself and the other group leader early to get same-day tickets for the Holocaust Memorial and Museum.

    I have had excellent feedback from my students since we returned. Many expressed how much of a once-in-a-lifetime experience it was. Others have discovered an interest and appreciation for American history because of this trip. Seeing and being absorbed in all of that history truly had a long term influence on my students.

    I believe that this tour is ideal for high school age students. I will be planning more DC trips with future students.

    I highly recommend this tour.
    Adair2DC / Group leader
    Posted on June 08, 2018
  4. Washington DC - Middle Sch - 5day trip

    We planned for 14mths, received an inclusive quote, made our payments, packed, arrived at the airport and enjoyed. EF Tours took care of EVERYTHING.

    We have worked with other companies to tour Europe or other cities in US. But, our Italy tour with EF in 2008 and our 2018 spring break trip to Washington DC were AMAZING.

    The tour director was brilliant and personable. He assured we made it to the Capitol, Archives, Smithsonian Museums, Mt Vernon, Arlington, Memorials (ALL of them), dinner, hotel and always had an interesting story that held the children's attention and created a fun fact to help them remember.

    Time to stretch and run around at Mt Vernon to the awing experience of witnessing a burial procession at Arlington along with the humbling experience of the changing of the guard. And, after 40+ times in DC - the cherry blossoms were blooming!

    Since it IS a children's tour. It MOVES. And, that is perfect. One day we got in 8miles. Averaged 6mi walking throughout a day. Before we knew it, five days had passed and we were back on a plane and home. Missing our time with friends & new friends with our heads filled with deeper meaning of being an American with much appreciation.
    Escapeartist / Student traveler
    Baton Rouge, LA / Posted on April 10, 2018
  5. Wonderful DC Tour!

    Our tour director was fantastic at making history come alive! She helped the students appreciate and respect the memorials and monuments. EF Tours does a great job of organizing the tours for the maximum impact and benefit for the students. There is a good balance between museums, monuments, memorials, and historic tours.
    MrsW / Group leader
    Denver, Colorado / Posted on April 03, 2018
  6. DC Tour

    Overall the trip was great. I was on tour with a group of high schools students and a few parents/adults so I had to keep reminding myself (an adult) that I was not the primary audience....so some of the ways the trip was handled I think was very appropriate for the majority of the crowd - such as dining in food courts. I understand why it was done and it worked out just fine.

    Tour guide and sites seen and time allowed at each site were all very well done.

    I would highly reccommend EF Travel and the trip to DC.
    Dave143 / Adult traveler
    Vacaville California / Posted on June 24, 2017
  7. Awesome Trip!

    Overall the trip was an excellent experience! We were a small group of 8, but the tour director still gave us our own tour experience even though there were two other groups. Numerous times we got dropped off to do something different from the rest of the group and picked up later. Our Tour Director Larry was extremely knowledgeable and the kids loved him.
    I will for sure be taking back more students next year with EF
    WKenneth / Group leader
    Arvada, CO / Posted on June 15, 2017
  8. Fantastic opportunity!

    Overall, our tour was so rewarding with all of the various memorials, museums, points of interests and eating establishments that were included throughout our trip! I feel like our bus had the amazing opportunity to work with our tour director - he was always on-time, an effective communicator, knowledgeable and kind. He truly had an impact on our trip due to researching people that had their names on the Vietnam Memorial from our town. This personal touch will stay with me and the students for a lifetime!
    jbms / Student traveler
    Whitman, MA / Posted on June 15, 2017
  9. A life-changing expierence

    The tour provided by the EF company has opened my child's eyes to the wonders of the real world as well as the depths of America's current political atmosphere. Although the trip was three days, my child was able to take away valuable lessons after climbing her way up the steps of Lincoln Memorial, strolling around the great Capitol, and choosing out t-shirts at Congress's gift shop. All in all, I would like to thank the EF team for providing my child with a new education.
    limo / Student traveler
    Posted on June 12, 2017
  10. Great Rewarding Adventure

    Well I think it take something to have a bunch of 13 and 14-year-olds really have a great time doing something other than talking to each other and being on their phones-let alone learning and absorbing much about our great country. EF Tours did a great job from the very beginning in organizing the trip And facilitating a great time for the kids. I highly recommend them. They also do a payment plan which is very helpful having twins on the trip
    Jerseymom / Parent
    Chatham, NJ / Posted on June 12, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?