Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.4 out of 5)
468 reviewed A New York Minute
5 stars
287
4 stars
111
3 stars
39
2 stars
20
1 star
11
  1. Awesome Oppurtunity

    My son recently went to New York for an 8th grade trip. He had an amazing time! He said their tour guide was great. Very knowledgable and kids loved him. Group got to go to Empire State Building, see Statue of Liberty, Times Square, 9/11 memorial and museum. They took in King Kong on Broadway. Took the ferry out to Ellis Island and got to see many neighborhoods. Loved that everything was all included, I only had to send spending money for my son. Would definitely recommend! Hope they are still doing the tours with EF when my daughter gets into 8th grade!
    TB0313 / Parent
    Chicago, IL / Posted on May 22, 2019
  2. Adventures in the Grand City

    This tour has been the greatest thing I have done, it was very fun and I have never experienced something like it before. There were a few downsides like other people not being on time for the meet up points causing us to go behind schedule and revisiting locations a bit too often, but the amount of freedom to wonder around and see what you would like to see was tremendous and very enjoyable. Some locations I would have liked to spent more time at but I still enjoyed visiting it. Overall this trip was fantastic.
    Lion / Student traveler
    Carrollton, GA / Posted on June 13, 2017
  3. Great trip

    We loved NYC! Our tour guide made sure he showed us everything we asked for and a lot more. My students were not excited about visiting museums, but after each one, they were asking for more time and were excited to tell me what they saw. Very fast-paced, and some complained that they didn't have time to take it all in. They understood the reason to move so quickly, but just wanted more time.

    In the future, we will do our best to have a tour without other schools. My students, but especially my chaperones, felt like they were being ridiculed and pushed aside. We tried to move toward the front, but some from the other school ran ahead, saying they didn't want to follow strangers. At the end of the Metropolitan Art Museum tour, one of my students was sitting in their group and wasn't noticed: chaperones and students from the other school made fun of us. When I told them goodbye at the airport and my kids joined in, they waved and started snickering. I just encouraged everyone to ignore that and enjoy each other and the city; at some points, it was hard to ignore.

    We really did love the tours, guide, and show. We are already talking about next year.
    Missm / Group leader
    Church Point, La / Posted on June 09, 2017
  4. Amazing NY trip

    This tour was really amazing. From the minute we arrived until the minute we departed our tour guide made sure that we had a wonderful experience. We were able to get to know many of the wonderful places like Chelsea Market, The Empire State Building, The Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, etc.
    Our tour guide told us many historical facts that made the entire experience a lot more interesting. We were able to see a Broadway play, which we really enjoyed.
    We learned a lot and had fun at the same time.
    I would highly recommend this tour to anyone, it is worth it. All of us had a fabulous time in NY.
    Strawberry / Adult traveler
    Sarasota,FL / Posted on May 17, 2017
  5. EF Explore America is Amazing!!!

    My daughter went with 50 of her classmates to NYC with EF Explore America during spring break 2017. I was very impressed with the things she was able to see and do while in New York. What really impressed me was the way EF Explore America handled the approaching blizzard. As a Texas mom, I worried about the safety of my child in a blizzard that was shutting down schools/roads. EF Explore America took care of everything: they made sure the kids got to see all the attractions, they kept them safe and fed during the blizzard and got them home within 1 hour of the scheduled arrival time in Dallas! WOW!!
    TexasMom / Parent
    Tyler, TX / Posted on March 20, 2017
  6. Trip of a Lifetime

    This was an incredible tour and opportunity for our students. Every event and experience was well planned and timed with educational purpose,while allowing for x-factors. The tour guides were amazing, knowledgeable and worked extremely well with middle school students.
    / Adult traveler
    Holden, MA / Posted on March 06, 2020
  7. Eye-opening experience

    The tour guide was attentive and accommodating. Everything we did was interesting and unique.
    Venny / Adult traveler
    Worcester, MA / Posted on March 04, 2020
  8. Excellent and unique experience

    In fact, it was also a 'rite of passage' for our son. In addition of all the wonderful educational and cultural activities in NY and a top-notch university, this was the first trip in which our son traveled without his parents, becoming then also a milestone in our son's development as a teenager.
    jrmora / Student traveler
    Newton, MA / Posted on March 27, 2019
  9. Wonderful Trip

    I liked most of the planning like the wax museum and the illusion house, along with the broadway trip but we should've went to more kid friendly places like the M&M factory that I really wanted to go to. Also, me and my friends wanted to visit other rooms but we were prohibited from doing that. Otherwise, this trip was a great experience and I really enjoyed travelling on the comfortable bus and tour groups. This trip is a great experience for students of all ages.
    Linny / Student traveler
    Newton,MA / Posted on March 25, 2019
  10. NYC

    This tour was excellent. I would have preferred a hotel in NY as opposed to NJ. I thought that the ratio of EF Guides to students was good.
    Mom2Jack / Parent
    Newton, MA / Posted on March 25, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?