Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
102 reviewed New York City: Visual Arts
5 stars
65
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
  1. Unforgettable trip

    I can't believe how many fantastic things we were able to see and do in 4 days. Our tour guide was terrific, full of great, interesting information. He was awesome with the kids.. The walking tour of Manhattan was interesting, the 911 memorial was my favorite. I wish we could have had more time. I loved the fact that we didn't have to navigate traffic, lines or purchasing tickets for anything during the trip. The hotel was comfortable and provided a good breakfast. The tour bus was clean and comfortable as well. The broadway show was amazing. I highly recommend this trip!
    DMC95 / Adult traveler
    Paradise, TX / Posted on June 09, 2017
  2. Amazing time!

    Overall my tour to New York was phenomenal. It was so packed and I saw so much of the city in only a couple of days. I only wish we had more time at The Met because that museum is huge and there was so much that I missed. I'm not sure New York is the best in March though just because of the bipolar weather which ended up cancelling our flight home and causing a lot of issues. But we made it through. On the tour I made some great friends saw some very important historical landmarks (such as Trinity Church and Alexander Hamilton's grave, Wall Street, and where George Washington was sworn in).
    Alexander / Student traveler
    Gilbert, Arizona / Posted on March 16, 2017
  3. Wish I could do it all over again!

    We had a great trip. EF took great care of us. We were able to do SO much on our limited time! M, our tour guide was fantastic--very knowledgable. We couldn't t ask any more from G, our bus driver, and J gave us a New Yorker's tour of the city. We had lots of free time to explore on our own. What an incredible experience for these kids. We got to visit the Met, Guggenheim, Times Square, Broadway Play, Ellis Island, 9-11 Memorial, Walk the Brooklyn Bridge, Central Park, Mass at St Patrick's Cathedral, 30 Rock, Walk Highland Park, Lunch at Grand Central Station, Empire State Building Observation Deck, Washington Park, and more! We couldn't ask for a better trip!
    Mommo / Adult traveler
    Posted on March 30, 2016
  4. Perfection

    This tour was simply fantastic. We were an art group, so we spent a majority of the time in NYC's museums!

    Alan, our guide, knew the city well. He was efficient and organized. He was hilarious and the kids loved him. He was great about being flexible to accommodate for weather and what we really wanted to see. He allowed us extra time in the MoMA, which made us very happy and was the highlight of our trip! When we decided we wanted to walk the Brooklyn Bridge instead of going to Cloisters (last day, we had been museum'd out at that point. Haha!) Alan made it happen!

    Broadway held a close second place for the best experience, after the MoMA. The seats were better than we imagined and the show was spectacular!

    And the food... oh. The food. Yes.

    Great tour.
    VanGogh / Group leader
    Oklahoma / Posted on January 28, 2016
  5. Needs improvement

    I don't even know where to start. For what I paid for me and my child I expected ALOT more. Our bus did not have a correctly working air conditioner. If it was on (barely working), it screeched continuously for hours on end. It was like driving a pencil into your eye over and over. The bus driver had absolutely no idea where he was going ..ever. He was ALWAYS late, that's leaving in the morning from the hotel in New Jersey, to picking up the group at any point during the day. We lost so much time to do things because of him it was ridiculous! The buses door was also broken, he got it fixed on our last day, but not the air conditioner. There was no microphone on the bus and tour guide didn't want to continuously shout so we lost out on any thing she could tell us about where we were at or what we were doing. The food was way under par for what we paid, we can have hamburgers or chicken tenders at home. The food at the Italian restaurant was good for adults, but very few of the kids would eat it, so we had to find another place to get them food, with money out of their pocket. The hotel was in a sketchy location. There was no going to a gas station for reasonably priced snacks. It was over an hour from the city no matter which way you went. The hotel itself was just okay, a little worn out and the food was mediocre. The tour guide didn't follow our itinerary that we were given and we had to ask her to do what we were wanting to do i.e China Town vs the Financial District. We were only able to stay at each place such short times, 10 min at St. Patrick's Cathedral, 1 hour or so at China Town, 1 1/2 hrs or so at Times Square and that was with having to find something to eat. You need planners that actually have children and know what they typically like and don't like. We also needed much more time to shop for souvenirs. I feel like as a single mom I spent a small fortune on this trip and did not get our moneys worth out of it at all. On a better note, we had Sarah take us through Central Park....she was AWESOME! You need a tour guide that knows something about New York and lives there for your main tour guides as well.
    Mom1975 / Adult traveler
    Sherwood, Arkansas / Posted on June 12, 2019
  6. New York Art Trip Review

    What I really enjoyed on the trip was the fact that we get to see most of the famous places on each island and get a lot of free time to explore each one as either a group of as a pair. Not only that but when the group went to a museum together, we got to learn the history as New york City as a whole. However, the only downside i got is having too little free time on some of the tours, such as Liberty Island because for me, I didn't go to the museum on time. Other than that, I really enjoyed this trip and i'll look forward to visit NY again one day!
    JerryE / Student traveler
    Phoenix, Arizona / Posted on June 10, 2019
  7. Very Fun

    I went as a chaperone with my friends class and I very much enjoyed it. We had the visual arts tour in NYC and visited many art museums, my favorite was the Met, although we had maybe two hours there which was enough to see maybe 20% of the museum. My only complaint was that we stayed in NJ so we had to commute over an hour each day to get to the city. I wished we would have booked a hotel in Manhattan so that we could have had more time to explore. Our tour guide was awesome and very funny and approachable. I applaud him for having so much patience with our group. Our flight was actually cancelled the day we were leaving and thankfully the airport was able to book us a hotel and EF will reimburse my friend the money he spent on taking a cab to the airport to get our vouchers. I hope to chaperone next year and experience a different tour hopefully with our same tour guide.
    deeeegeeee / Adult traveler
    Phoenix, AZ / Posted on June 06, 2019
  8. amazing experience! Tour Guide is aawesome

    WeLOVED our tour guide Fabrizio. He is awesome :)
    / Adult traveler
    Phoenix, AZ / Posted on June 06, 2019
  9. Great way to meet the big city!

    Leading a group of small town kids to New York city seemed a bit overwhelming. Thanks to my EF tour consultant and tour leader the trip was a huge success. My students we able to immerse themselves in the culture of the big city in a safe and secure way. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable about the city and flexible when we wanted to change our itinierary. All my students learned a great deal and were ready to go back as soon as we arrived home.
    Shane / Group leader
    Green River, WY / Posted on June 06, 2019
  10. Fantastic Trip

    My group LOVED this trip! The opportunity to get out and experience the world was phenomenal. My students loved the major attractions but I was very surprised at how many little things they enjoyed - the Broadway musical won my high boys over, the High Line was a surprise stop that was the highlight of many, and walking back from Little Chinatown was so much fun and bonding! A trip of a lifetime full of memories!
    c0gnitive / Group leader
    Wonewoc, Wi / Posted on April 01, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?