Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.2 out of 5)
54 reviewed New York City: The Big Apple
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
1
  1. NYC

    Ok so my trip was good except for the part where we got onto another bus to take us back to the airport to leave he was the rudest bus driver in the world and i didn’t like him because he cussed us out but i loved the trip all before that
    Citrus / Student traveler
    Jackson, MO / Posted on July 18, 2018
  2. NYC Journey

    Tour guide was awesome and very informative!
    Everything was well planned and fun!!!
    An amazing experience... well thought out and professionally handled.
    Trip cost was a bit on the high end.
    Rockman / Student traveler
    Cape Carteret, NC / Posted on July 17, 2018
  3. Outstanding Educational Experience

    I had never been to New York, but our tour guide and bus driver gave us an amazing tour of the city. In those 5 days I feel that I was able to see everything that makes New York what it is today. We covered a lot in such a short period of time.
    LadyT / Adult traveler
    Dallas, Texas / Posted on July 08, 2018
  4. Travel Early

    My son had an amazing time traveling on his own (school trip). I was worried at first but I felt reassured with the communication and updates from the travel leaders. I was impressed with the itinerary and the richness of the content and cultural experience. I beleive that my son really had the new york state of mind experience. I’m thankful for the tour organizers, their leadership and in making sure the kids had a grand time. I almost wished I chaperoned.
    Deeva / Parent
    San Antonio, Tx / Posted on July 07, 2018
  5. Wait for it. Wait for it.

    The Good:
    NYC was a good place to experience. Ellis Island, and the 9/11 Museum and Memorial were phenomenal, due in part to the audio tour. At the 9/11 Museum, an employee even helped us download an app that let us listen to the tour for free!
    Our bus driver rocked! Our step on tour guide was really knowledgable, too. We picked up some killer coffee and pastries in China town on his recommendation.

    The Not-So-Good:
    Our guide was young and not the best at managing the group and our time. 15 minutes here, 20 minutes there; it all adds up to lots of lost time. There was an incident at the Museum of Natural History and we didn't even get to go, because it would have been pointless by the time we finally got tickets. So the last day in NYC, we had 30 minutes to rush around Chelsea Market and then we switched buses to head home. We did make a flying stop at an aircraft carrier that was all of 15 minutes. That was all we did for the entire morning after waiting for an hour at the museum. Bummer. I am also a sucker for good customer service. I have yet to hear from my tour consultant since that last day. We also traveled with a group of younger kids and almost all of them had an adult with them. They were fine, but I would prefer NOT to do that again. Also, I taught history for 4 years, and our guide was not the most knowledgable. He actually made a comment to an adult on tour that he gets most of his information from Wikipedia and doesn't really even know if he is telling us accurate information.
    ML0309 / Group leader
    Seminole, TX / Posted on June 30, 2018
  6. Astonishing Experience!

    My students and I shared an unforgettable experience during our NYC trip. Parents have already told me students are ready to sign up for my next trip. Students stated our trip was so much more fun than traveling with family. From the start to the end, we saw everything on our list including making stops in Brooklyn and Harlem. Everyone on the trip had a different favorite moment. I am so excited that everyone's experience was so rewarding.
    Jacqueline / Group leader
    Dacula, GA / Posted on June 27, 2018
  7. Luuuuu / Student traveler
    Posted on June 27, 2018
  8. Good Trip for First Timers

    This is good trip for, especially, kids who are first timers to New York. You cover a lot of territory, but in about 1½ hour increments. I could have spent a half day at Ellis Island, the Statue of Liberty, the 9/11 Museum, and Central Park, among other stops. Our tour guide was a very nice person and very accommodating. She kept things together on the tour. However, I was disappointed in her knowledge of New York, its history and its landmarks. She seemed to have a better knowledge of what a New York resident (which she is) would know, not the information that a tourist would want to know or need. Our "step-on" guide much more fit that bill. He was very knowledgeable with facts, background, and stories about the Village, which we toured with him. Along the same lines, we were given a lot of free time on the streets of New York with no tour guide to point out landmarks or give history of what we were seeing as we walked around. Admittedly, I came at this tour as a chaperone and not a teacher, as the teacher backed out after starting the process. The hotel was way too far into New Jersey. We spent a good deal of time on the bus traveling to and from the hotel which could have been used to give us more time at the various sites. The hotel was very nice, but a lesser hotel closer to the city would have been fine. We were only there to sleep and get breakfast. The breakfast was very good at the hotel but, again, a lesser breakfast at a hotel closer to the city would have been preferred. All-in-all, the travel arrangements and variation of the selected sites was very good for, again, a first timer to New York. We did not spend a lot of time riding around in the bus, which was a good thing. I personally would not do this tour to New York again, but I have been there several times before. I will say, however, that it did introduce me to a few places—Ellis Island, 9/11 Museum, among others—that I might not have taken time in the future to go to without this trip. The contact at ER office in Boston was very helpful and pleasant and easy to deal with. I have no problems at all with ER Explore and the way it handles its trips and business and travelers. I would certainly recommend ER Explore to others.
    Senior / Group leader
    Tyler, Texas / Posted on June 27, 2018
  9. Unforgettable trip !

    This trip was amazing I learned a lot of thing during the trip and I enjoyed it !!! I got to visit somewhere I’ve been dreaming to visit!!
    Luuuuu / Student traveler
    Laurel, Mississippi / Posted on June 26, 2018
  10. Great Experience

    My students had a wonderful learning experience in New York!
    Angelica / Group leader
    Alabama / Posted on June 25, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?