Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
258 reviewed Historic Boston
5 stars
185
4 stars
45
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 star
7
  1. Outstanding Experience

    Wow, the overall Boston trip is an incredible experience. First off the tour director(s) are outstanding, putting together the Boston itinerary. Secondly, our tour guide is incredible. Alan, colored up the tour with his personal stories and humor. The students had a great time learning about historic Boston. Students told parents about the Revolutionary War battles. Students enjoyed the Boston ghost tour. But, above all, students enjoyed meeting new people. Personally, I am intrigued with the Freedom Trail, specifically the Paul Revere history. I loved learning about Paul Revere's secret lantern message from the North Church. I really enjoyed learning about "Home of Little Women" author Louisa Alcott decision to become an abolitionist. The Salem Witch Museum is tons of fun. It is cool to learn how the witch hunt started with gossipy girls. Visiting Salem and the Salem Witch Museum during Halloween would be, well, a thrill. Overall outstanding trip.
    kthwk63 / Group leader
    Vallejo, CA / Posted on June 18, 2018
  2. Exactly what we wanted!

    From start to finish, this experience was completely catered to US. The tour coordinator added what we wanted, removed what didn't interest us, and the tour director/bus driver adapted things as we went to fit our needs. The days were balanced between scheduled tours and free time, riding the bus and walking. We all had a blast! Thanks, EF!
    MissyVB / Group leader
    Visalia, California / Posted on April 03, 2018
  3. Boston or Bust!

    Even though we had some hiccups with the weather and airlines, EF tried their hardest to make our trip the best. We arrived a day behind, but our Tour Director and EF people behind the scenes were definitely our advocate! She and our bus driver were super flexible and accommodating. We swang by a local beach and played with hermit crabs, had a cannoli, lunch at a park, experienced Fenway and a Sox game, went Candlepin bowling (I didn't even know that was a thing?), stopped by the Museum of Fine Arts, and so much more. We had a fabulous time! Thank you!
    ML0309 / Group leader
    Seminole, TX / Posted on June 21, 2017
  4. Boston Girls

    My girls loved the trip! We especially enjoyed Candlepin Bowling, the Museum of Fine Arts and of course Salem. We had a direct flight to and from Boston and all our seats were together! Thanks! The hotel was excellent, the tour leaders were knowledgeable and provided a nice overview of the history of the area. We also appreciated our bus driver who was able to drop us off in the most unlikely places so we wouldn't get wet!
    MsLynn / Group leader
    Tampa, FL / Posted on June 14, 2017
  5. Daughter Cannot Stop Gushing About Trip

    We sent our 11YO along with her two 5th grade teachers and @dozen classmates on the Historic Boston adventure last week. She was exhausted when she got home because they visited so many amazing places from dusk until dawn. Her tour guide knew just what to show and share to the age group. The trip brought to life the social studies lessons that she had throughout this past school year about the revolutionary war and historic Boston. I would definitely consider sending her on an adventure in middle school and/or high school through EF Explore America (or the world...)
    tbwhit / Parent
    Houston, TX / Posted on June 12, 2017
  6. Best Trip EVER

    The Historic Boston tour was absotlutely amazing! It was so well organized and we hit every single historic spot there was to experience. The tour guide was so nice and knew everything about the sites. She was WONDERFUL!! The restaurants and food and service were outstanding. I cannot say enough good things about this experience. It was absolutely perfect.
    Cecy / Adult traveler
    Torrance CA / Posted on June 01, 2017
  7. Great Historical Experience

    Donna was an excellent tour guide. Most of the sites visited were very good. I especially liked the Alcott home and the tour of the House of Seven Gables. The students in our group were bored during the State House Visit. It seemed rather lengthy. Also, there was no air conditioning and we were there on a very warm and crowded day. In our group were several students that were younger and had issues with being quiet so others could hear and following directions of site guides. Overall, I very much enjoyed the trip
    Texan76 / Adult traveler
    Crosbyton, TX / Posted on July 05, 2018
  8. Memorable whirlwind!

    Great bus driver! Courteous and very helpful guide. Wonderful sights. More history available than time to see it all. The little details and stories told at the individual sights and along our tour put it all together!
    RedK / Adult traveler
    New Lisbon, WI / Posted on July 05, 2018
  9. Awful, Inexperienced Tour Guide

    Not only did we not get to do the things listed on our itinerary, our tour guide was admittedly unfamiliar and inexperienced with Boston. We were given no useful information while driving through Boston. We were led around for 2 hours trying to find our dinner because she did not know where to go and could not use her map on her phone. While nice, she was unfamiliar with any place we went and we had to demand step on guides. It was so bad the customer service guy had to come with us...didn't help. We had to cut our tour of the USS Constitution (which we weren't even going to get to do until we complained) so that we could get to our dinner at...Potbelly's. I was incredibly disappointed and for the thousands of dollars I spent, I definitely could have planned my own trip, seen more things, and had a better time than that provided by this company, which is funnily enough, headquartered in Boston.
    KateMan / Adult traveler
    Fort Worth, TX / Posted on July 02, 2018
  10. History Packed

    I loved all the History!
    Jolee / Adult traveler
    Sonora Ca / Posted on June 26, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?