Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
67 reviewed Hawaii: The Island State
5 stars
47
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
0
  1. Excellent experience

    My daughter went on a trip to Hawaii recently with her school. I am thouroughly impressed with this company and her overall experience. Everything was explained up front and certainly exceeded my expectations. I would send her again in a second using this company.
    Cjt49 / Parent
    Homer, NY / Posted on July 12, 2018
  2. Wonderful experience!

    Everything about this tour was truly fantastic. The hotels and their location were in walking distance to everything.More importantly, this trip combined learning about the Hawaiian culture, educational side trips and a whole lot of relaxation and fun. The tour guides were excellent and accomodating - treated us like "ohana"! We only stayed in Hilo and Kona one night each and I think that both were deserving of another night at least. Overall the breakfasts were great with a huge selection of items for all. Dinner on the sunset cruise and luau equally beautiful and with good food! Would go back in a minute.
    Braids / Group leader
    Staten Island, NY / Posted on July 07, 2017
  3. Just FANTASTIC!!!

    Our trip to Hawaii was just fantastic! The places we visited were wonderful, full of history and science and culture and so many things I didn't know. Our tour guide knew all the great out-of-the-way places to eat, and all the local customs and facts.
    BeaBea / Adult traveler
    Pearl River, LA / Posted on June 15, 2017
  4. Amazing Trip

    The entire trip was great from the flights, to the sites, but our tour guide Pili was the best!
    Duane / Adult traveler
    Schertz, TX / Posted on June 13, 2017
  5. Best Experience of my Life!

    This trip was by far one of the best experiences of my life. The tour guide was phenomenal and extremely knowledgeable. Everything about Hawaii was absolutely stunning. Two of my favorite parts were climbing Diamond Head and swimming under the Waimea Valley waterfalls. The food was excellent, the Hawaii residents were so nice, and the hotels were great. I'm so glad I decided to go on this trip with some of my best friends.
    Emily678 / Student traveler
    Posted on March 06, 2017
  6. Unforgettable Trip!

    Overall the tour was very fun. I learned new information all while enjoying a tropical paradise. The weather was awesome the whole trip and our tour guide really connected with the students and helped make the trip a whole lot better. We had many picky eaters in our group and with a lot of shortened menu's for larger groups, some kids(15-17) were not satisfied. As for the hotels, they were great except for the small double beds and a bad breakfast and dinner at one of our hotels. During our tour, the volcano was active so we did not get to go to the Volcanoes National Park which was something that was looked forward to. In substitution we went on a few hikes which made up for it(almost).
    Mels / Student traveler
    New York / Posted on August 05, 2018
  7. Missed Opportunities

    To be concise, the hotels were great, the tour director was great, and the buses were of good quality. The flights were awful - we were booked on United where students were charged for checked bags, no complimentary food was provided on flights, and we had a too short layover that left us literally running through the airport. We were warned about the checked bag charge, we were not warned that there would be no food on the flight. The itinerary left much to be desired. Over the course of two days, students had eight hours of free time in Waikiki - far more than needed and far more than I, the chaperone, was comfortable with. Pearl Harbor and Polynesian Cultural Center days were great. Meals were acceptable. On the Waikiki Beach day, we did not want to go to the beach again because students already spent their free time there. We instead paid out of pocket to go snorkeling in Hanauma Bay - everyone's favorite part of the trip, but regrettably one that EF was not a part of. We did the Big Island extension. EF did their best to work around the volcano eruption and I have no complaints there. If you are looking to 'see' and get an overview of Hawaii, this works. If you are looking for a highly educational trip, this is not it.
    RepeatLeader / Group leader
    Bethel, CT / Posted on July 27, 2018
  8. Tour good, transportation messed up

    I would recommend this tour with some reservations. The tour of Maui and the Polynesian Cultural Center were great. The tour guide was very informative and good-natured. That said, we had a pretty horrible experience in getting to Hawaii at all. Long story, but basically, one of our party was not assigned a seat and was instead placed on the "overbooked" list and ended up on a flight 5 hours behind the rest of our group. Our hotel room was not part of a block with the rest of our group, either. This being our fourth experience with EF Explore America, we were surprised and disappointed, especially when no one with the company seemed very concerned about this snafu.
    Lark / Adult traveler
    San Antonio, TX / Posted on July 25, 2018
  9. Wonderful vacation

    Loved pearl harbor very interesting .the Polynesian culture village wished we had more time there the breath of life show was amazing.enjoyed the whole experience but those were my favorite.our your guide was excellent
    Vickey / Adult traveler
    Waldron,ark / Posted on July 12, 2018
  10. Wonderful, breath taking and amazing

    This was our first time to go to Hawaii. We had an amazing time! The tour guide was wonderful and knew his stuff! The sunsets was beautiful on the Waikiki beach. The deep emotions you felt when you stepped onto USS Arizona and the Diamond Head, brought to life all the history, we had taught. We had never seen so much shaking going on like to dancers at the Polynesian Cultural Center and the dinner cruise. Over all I would recommend this trip highly! IT WAS A TRIP OF A LIFETIME!!!!!!!!!!!!
    KKatt / Group leader
    Waldron, AR / Posted on July 11, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?