Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
76 reviewed Hawaii: The Island State
5 stars
52
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
0
  1. Excellent experience

    My daughter went on a trip to Hawaii recently with her school. I am thouroughly impressed with this company and her overall experience. Everything was explained up front and certainly exceeded my expectations. I would send her again in a second using this company.
    Cjt49 / Parent
    Homer, NY / Posted on July 12, 2018
  2. Wonderful experience!

    Everything about this tour was truly fantastic. The hotels and their location were in walking distance to everything.More importantly, this trip combined learning about the Hawaiian culture, educational side trips and a whole lot of relaxation and fun. The tour guides were excellent and accomodating - treated us like "ohana"! We only stayed in Hilo and Kona one night each and I think that both were deserving of another night at least. Overall the breakfasts were great with a huge selection of items for all. Dinner on the sunset cruise and luau equally beautiful and with good food! Would go back in a minute.
    Braids / Group leader
    Staten Island, NY / Posted on July 07, 2017
  3. Just FANTASTIC!!!

    Our trip to Hawaii was just fantastic! The places we visited were wonderful, full of history and science and culture and so many things I didn't know. Our tour guide knew all the great out-of-the-way places to eat, and all the local customs and facts.
    BeaBea / Adult traveler
    Pearl River, LA / Posted on June 15, 2017
  4. Amazing Trip

    The entire trip was great from the flights, to the sites, but our tour guide Pili was the best!
    Duane / Adult traveler
    Schertz, TX / Posted on June 13, 2017
  5. Best Experience of my Life!

    This trip was by far one of the best experiences of my life. The tour guide was phenomenal and extremely knowledgeable. Everything about Hawaii was absolutely stunning. Two of my favorite parts were climbing Diamond Head and swimming under the Waimea Valley waterfalls. The food was excellent, the Hawaii residents were so nice, and the hotels were great. I'm so glad I decided to go on this trip with some of my best friends.
    Emily678 / Student traveler
    Posted on March 06, 2017
  6. A beautiful place!

    Hawaii was amazing! I was a little disappointed in the itinerary somewhat. Several days we did not have time to stop for lunch until very late in the day and only a few hours before dinner. At Pearl Harbor the only choices were a hotdog or nachos. And the next day after hiking diamond head we didn’t stop near a lunch spot until almost 2:00 and that was at a hot dog stand. Our tour guide was very nice and super intelligent but was not in tune with the young travelers. The driving tour around the island could have very well been changed to snorkeling time at the bay or even beach time. In the past our guide took the time to talk to the kids to discover what they wanted to do. She would then alter the itinerary based on what they expressed.
    Our luau dinner was not a luau. Our tour guide assured us that although it wasn’t an official luau the food would be luau style. But that was not the case. We did have pulled pork, but aside from that it was typical buffet food, spaghetti, mashed potatoes, gravy and so forth. Personally I would recommend booking the luau for future groups. The Dole Plantation could be a much shorter stop (or skipped) and more time at the Polynesian Cultural center.
    The dinner cruise was awesome! The show on board was incredible!
    Overall we loved Hawaii, and I believe with a few tweaks to the itinerary the experience would be even better!
    TravelingTeacher2 / Group leader
    Saucier, ms / Posted on June 11, 2019
  7. Aloha Denied

    I cannot express how much Danni and her team helped during our Hawaii trip. From planning stages to the end she and her team were superb!
    GeorgiaTraveler / Group leader
    Flowery Branch, GA / Posted on June 11, 2019
  8. Not teen friendly

    Overall the trip was good. The locations we visited were interesting and fun. Claire was out of touch with the needs and interests of teens.
    Kota / Student traveler
    D’Iberville, MS / Posted on June 11, 2019
  9. Well rounded!

    Everything is planned! Our time on the Islands was well planned and all logistics worked out without a hitch or glitch! The diversity of excursions was exciting and challenging if you decided to participate.
    Tabby / Adult traveler
    Baton Rouge, La / Posted on June 06, 2019
  10. Amazing Trip

    First, I would like to state that our tour guide made the entire trip authentic and amazing. His knowledge and professionalism was impressive. We wanted the trip to be authentic and not "touristy" and it definitely exceeded our expectations. Some of the students would've liked a little more beach time but most enjoyed the entire itinerary. The only complaint that we would have is that the food was not the best quality.
    WorldTravel / Group leader
    Freetown, MA / Posted on April 22, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?