Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.8 out of 5)
18 reviewed Chicago: The Windy City
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. Fantastic!

    The tour of Chicago was amazing! We were able to see and visit all of the major landmarks and museums and sample some of Chicago's signature food. I would highly recommend this tour and EF America.
    ShellyParka / Adult traveler
    Thompson CT / Posted on March 21, 2016
  2. Terrific Toured the Windy City

    I have taken students on many field trips on my own, in order to economize, to make trips feasible for more of my students. Our recent tour with EF has convinced me that the extra money spent for a guided tour is well worth the cost. The trip was so much enjoyable for me, and for the other chaperones because all of the planning, transportation, tickets, reservations were taken care of for us. Though we did not have many problems, the few that are natural when touring a group of students, were handled for us. Our tour guide, bus driver, and guest historian were so knowledgeable and professional. I have been to Chicago several times, yet learned so much more every day. Accommodations were excellent, meals delicious and ample. I might add my sincere thanks to our tour guide and to EF for assisting us when our flight home was cancelled. EF procured another night in a new hotel that fit our needs for shuttle to the airport early the next morning, and provided the support we needed to work out our faltered flight arrangements. One more benefit was the security guard contracted to watch over student rooms all night. This allowed the adults to rest worry-free!
    Art1 / Adult traveler
    Madison, MS / Posted on June 24, 2014
  3. Fun Educational Trip

    This well organized trip was very informative throughout while making interesting and fun at the same time. We appreciated our schedule/tour director being flexible enough to work in group requests (and small group requests). It was amazing how much territory we covered in several days. I do wish I had pre-studied the museums prior to the trip in order to plan and prioritize the areas of the museum I wanted to visit. It seemed like I lost valuable time figuring out what I wanted to see and how to get there. Perhaps an option to have a docent would have been beneficial as well as an option to see a IMAX presentation. The restaurant choices were good. Our tour guide mixed in some of his favorite locations as well which were terrific. The local expert on art and architecture was fabulous.
    Madison / Adult traveler
    Jackson, Mississippi / Posted on June 24, 2014
  4. Great Trip!

    Our Trip to Chicago was an overall amazing experience. The one thing that I would change is to spend more time at the different places (museums, aquarium, etc.) but I know this trip was designed with a 12 year old attention span, so I know that was good for them. The timing of everything always lined up and our tour director (Stephanie) did a fantastic job of controlling the group to deliver well worded and clear, interesting information about the city and places we were going to. All of our dining was fantastic and the kids got to try new cuisine! This trip left me wanting more, so I know that my wife and I will have to go back to Chicago!
    Mitch / Adult traveler
    Lewis Center, Ohio / Posted on May 23, 2013
  5. SOO Fun!!!!

    This trip was so fun, and it wasn't very boring! Our tour guide told us cool things about the city, but did not smother us in a boring lecture! There was a lot of freedom in exploring the city! The museums were not boring at all!
    Doggypuffles / Student traveler
    Posted on May 22, 2017
  6. Chicago Seems Average

    The most distinctive highlights (which were great!) were the Sears Tower, Navy Pier, Boat Architecture tour, and attending a taping of Wait Wait Don't Tell Me. The restaurants that we visited during this trip were excellent. Overall, however, a majority of the activities did not allow me to gain a sense of Chicago's unique culture (if there is one; perhaps there isn't?). The parks, museums and aquarium were interesting, but every city has museums and parks and fish are fish.
    Touristy / Adult traveler
    Posted on March 21, 2016
    Lauren
    Customer Experience

    Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent tour. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed many of the sights that you visited but that Chicago's true culture did not shine through. I have passed along your feedback to our tour development team to investigate further. We do hope to see you on another EF tour in the near future.

  7. Almost best trips of my life

    The trip needs to be longer. Don't go the the zoo and she'd squirm.
    TALONIZED / Student traveler
    Brookpark ohio / Posted on May 04, 2015
  8. Experience of a lifetime...

    This was my first experience traveling with a school group. From the comfort of the bus, the amazing places we visited & the tour guides, this was an experience that will carry with me for my lifetime. The moment I arrived home, I've felt the need to go back. I want to be an art major and this city fulfilled my artful and creative needs the moment we stepped foot in Chicago. I will ever be so grateful for this trip and looking forward to many more.
    Maddy / Student traveler
    Columbus, OH / Posted on June 25, 2014
  9. Crazy Fun!!

    I enjoyed going to Chicago!! We did so much, had so many amazing tour directors, and our bus driver was so friendly! I loved every part of the trip and I wish I could go again!
    kdubs / Student traveler
    Columbus, Ohio / Posted on May 20, 2013
  10. INCREDIBLE TIME

    Our tour guide, Katie, was the most incredible tour guide ever. She really made our trip special and made it a lasting memory!!!!!!!!!! Our trip to Chicago was probably the best trip I've ever been on, and EF Smithsonian really provided incredible opportunities! Thank you so much!
    zawesome21 / Student traveler
    Atlanta, Georgia / Posted on March 23, 2013

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?