Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
979 reviewed Washington, D.C.: The Capital Tour
5 stars
664
4 stars
215
3 stars
58
2 stars
27
1 star
15
  1. History Comes Alive

    Everything about our DC trip was magical! From the time we stepped on the bus to the time we stepped off the bus, everything was incredible. Seeing the Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials in person brought all the history my students have learned off the page of a book and into meaningful context in their lives. Being in the great city of Washington DC and to experience history come alive before their eyes inspires me to be a better teacher and make their education more valuable.
    NNteacher / Group leader
    Morocco, IN / Posted on May 19, 2015
  2. DC always delightful

    This was my fourth trip with EF Explore America to Washington DC. As always, I felt taken care of while my students had an incredible experience. I could not be more pleased with our overall experience and the value of this trip for my students. Thanks for showing my students all the amazing sights that our Nation's capital has to offer!
    Peeps / Group leader
    Spokane, WA / Posted on April 23, 2014
  3. DC Tour

    Overall the trip was great. I was on tour with a group of high schools students and a few parents/adults so I had to keep reminding myself (an adult) that I was not the primary audience....so some of the ways the trip was handled I think was very appropriate for the majority of the crowd - such as dining in food courts. I understand why it was done and it worked out just fine.

    Tour guide and sites seen and time allowed at each site were all very well done.

    I would highly reccommend EF Travel and the trip to DC.
    Dave143 / Adult traveler
    Vacaville California / Posted on June 24, 2017
  4. It was a pretty good experience

    Our tour guide got us everywhere we wanted to go but she was very rude to me and my friends.
    Washingtontourstudent / Student traveler
    Florida / Posted on June 22, 2017
  5. great trip

    very educational, fun, exciting, many first time experiences
    Emster / Student traveler
    port st joe , Fl / Posted on June 22, 2017
  6. Great experience - not the best guide

    From the moment we met our tour guide she was not very pleasant. I chalked it up to her having 30+ students and chaperones, however as the time and days went on she continued to talk down to the kids and adults. We asked to tour a famous bakery (which was not in our agenda) and she agreed. They kids were so excited and filled with complete joy! While there she kept telling them to get against the wall and out of the way, which they were. The final time she addressed them, while pointing their finger in one of the kids face, and said "I will not tell you again to get up against the wall!" The kids were almost in tears and were so embarrassed - the joy was completely taken from them. I felt like any chance she got to yell at them she did. She did not have patience for the middle schoolers or the adults (at times). On a positive side, she did get us to all stops we were scheduled for and we have tons of memories, but if I were to do another eF tours, I would make sure she was not our guide or I would not go or allow my child to go.
    Tourwashington / Adult traveler
    Florida / Posted on June 22, 2017
  7. A Blast of DC

    The trip was awesome, but the tour guide could have shown a little more compassion for the several people with physical injuries that were on the tour. He walked at an extremely fast pace and seemed more interested in "tagging up" at each site, than making sure everyone was enjoying their trip. There were a few places that seemed to be "time fillers" such as the zoo and ghost walk that could have been left off the itinerary. There should be just a bit more "down time" for the kids; they were exhausted. More is not always better. It's the quality of the tour that matters much more than the quantity.
    Psych / Adult traveler
    Vacaville, CA / Posted on June 22, 2017
  8. Great Trip

    It would have been better if we would have had more time at Mount Vernon, The Holocaust Memorial, and Newseum. Would have liked our dinner reservations to be later the day we went to Mount Vernon allowing more time. A 6:30 time slot would have worked best. Skip the Zoo!
    Tkitty / Group leader
    Coolidge, AZ / Posted on June 21, 2017
  9. Fun experience !

    There was a BUNCH of walking, but I have a fun experience exploring all the memorials and monuments. It was was nice that I got to go with my friends and classmates.
    Blondie15 / Student traveler
    San Antonio, TX / Posted on June 19, 2017
  10. Simply Fascinating

    I had a great time! It was so amazing to be standing right in the middle of where our country came to be, and I honestly am already planning for my next trip with EF. However, it was slightly flawed. Our tour director could have been more experienced, but we all agreed that she could not have been any nicer and we could tell she wanted only the best. The other thing was that when we went to the National Archives, I was not given enough time to see the Constitution, or the Declaration of Independence, which was upsetting. However, it was all worth it!
    Lanesters / Student traveler
    Mustang, Oklahoma / Posted on June 19, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?