Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
982 reviewed Washington, D.C.: The Capital Tour
5 stars
666
4 stars
215
3 stars
58
2 stars
27
1 star
16
  1. DC Tour

    Overall the trip was great. I was on tour with a group of high schools students and a few parents/adults so I had to keep reminding myself (an adult) that I was not the primary audience....so some of the ways the trip was handled I think was very appropriate for the majority of the crowd - such as dining in food courts. I understand why it was done and it worked out just fine.

    Tour guide and sites seen and time allowed at each site were all very well done.

    I would highly reccommend EF Travel and the trip to DC.
    Dave143 / Adult traveler
    Vacaville California / Posted on June 24, 2017
  2. Awesome Trip!

    Overall the trip was an excellent experience! We were a small group of 8, but the tour director still gave us our own tour experience even though there were two other groups. Numerous times we got dropped off to do something different from the rest of the group and picked up later. Our Tour Director Larry was extremely knowledgeable and the kids loved him.
    I will for sure be taking back more students next year with EF
    WKenneth / Group leader
    Arvada, CO / Posted on June 15, 2017
  3. Fantastic opportunity!

    Overall, our tour was so rewarding with all of the various memorials, museums, points of interests and eating establishments that were included throughout our trip! I feel like our bus had the amazing opportunity to work with our tour director - he was always on-time, an effective communicator, knowledgeable and kind. He truly had an impact on our trip due to researching people that had their names on the Vietnam Memorial from our town. This personal touch will stay with me and the students for a lifetime!
    jbms / Student traveler
    Whitman, MA / Posted on June 15, 2017
  4. A life-changing expierence

    The tour provided by the EF company has opened my child's eyes to the wonders of the real world as well as the depths of America's current political atmosphere. Although the trip was three days, my child was able to take away valuable lessons after climbing her way up the steps of Lincoln Memorial, strolling around the great Capitol, and choosing out t-shirts at Congress's gift shop. All in all, I would like to thank the EF team for providing my child with a new education.
    limo / Student traveler
    Posted on June 12, 2017
  5. Great Rewarding Adventure

    Well I think it take something to have a bunch of 13 and 14-year-olds really have a great time doing something other than talking to each other and being on their phones-let alone learning and absorbing much about our great country. EF Tours did a great job from the very beginning in organizing the trip And facilitating a great time for the kids. I highly recommend them. They also do a payment plan which is very helpful having twins on the trip
    Jerseymom / Parent
    Chatham, NJ / Posted on June 12, 2017
  6. Great Experience

    we were able to see a lot of sights
    kstraughn / Adult traveler
    Iowa / Posted on July 31, 2017
  7. Generic and bad experience.

    Very difficult to plan. Travel coordinator was switched mid-planning. Sites that we requested (holocaust museum) and were promised with the first coordinator, we were denied with the second, even with the other groups on our bus also wanting to see the same attraction. On the first day, we had a lot of problems. Our tour director was new and read the script paper. She gave historically incorrect information. At one point during the tour, the TDs phone died and since she didn't give us a time or place to meet back at, we wasted 2+ hours of valuable touring time trying to find our TD. We didn't get to see two of the memorials we were scheduled to see that night, along with the White House. At this point, our kids were really starting to worry and pick up that something was wrong. It affected their ability to to enjoy the sites because they were worried about getting back to the hotel. Thank goodness our bus driver gave us his card, we were able to find him and get back to the bus and I found the tour director.... After we were all back together she tried to blame the whole situation on us because we separated from her. She also had the wrong head count on the bus. We had 40 on our bus not 43 as she stated. Our bus driver was super nice, but it was his first time driving in DC. Therefore, short cuts were unknown. Our tour director was unable to give tips on how to get around D.C. and we wasted touring time due to poor navigation. The first half of Day 2 was just as bad. The TD scheduled us to leave at 9 AM, an hour later than we should have. We didn't make it to our first destination that day until after 10AM. We missed the Marine Memorial that morning due to being behind schedule. We had limited time at Arlington National Cemetery. We had to practically run to hit the highlights (Kennedy gravesite, Arlington House, and Tomb of the unknown with changing of the guards) of the cemetery with the time we were allowed. Our lunch location was changed. The kids were looking forward to eating at Mount Vernon, but instead we were sent to the mall, Pentagon City for their food court. The food was more than sub par. This caused us to be late to our appointment to tour the gristmill at Mount Vernon. At this point, enough of the group leaders and chaperones had complained, thankfully EF changed our tour director. The new TD was fabulous, but we lost a lot of touring time at Mount Vernon. We also did not have tickets to tour the inside of the house, only the grounds of the estate. After speaking with a Mount Vernon associate, we found out that EF Tours does provide tickets to tour the inside of the house, but you have to ask and plan in advance. Our kids really wanted to tour the inside of the house, and were disappointed we couldn't. As a chaperone, we were never told to request home tour tickets in addition to estate tickets in the planning stage of our trip. The rest of the trip was ok, but we spent any down time we had seeing sites we missed the first day and a half. With the TDs help, navigation improved drastically and we spent less time on the bus driving too and from touring sites. We only had four days and we knew they would be long and tiring, but spending our scheduled down time hitting the sites we missed earlier in the trip, pushed our kiddos over the edge of tired. EF did finally get the whole bus holocaust museum tickets due to the fiasco that was our first day and a half in DC, but that was promised to all three groups on the bus during the planning stages and then we were all told no. So EF could have gotten tickets for the Holocaust Museum all along... The last day was a bit of a mess as well. It was scheduled for the bus to leave for the airport at noon, but with three groups on the bus, we all had flights at different times with our groups flight not leaving until 8PM!!! Thankfully the new tour director caught this and arranged for one group to go ahead in a different bus to catch their flight and then we went to the airport later in the day after seeing an additional site. However, we still had 4 hours to kill in the airport after going through security... really poorly planned. Overall, I feel like I could have paid a lot less and just hoped on and off the double decker tour buses and had the same experience. Disappointing experience from an educational tour company that is supposed to be ranked #2 in the nation. Our group has been denied a partial refund. The EF travel coordinator stated that if our students had fun, a partial refund was not warranted.... Will not be using EF again. Such a disappointment
    Patsy / Adult traveler
    Dallas, TX / Posted on July 06, 2017
  8. LITTTTTT

    It was super fun to go on a trip and explore what made America. I'm super into the Revolutionary War and the musical Hamilton so the trip was real fun. 10/10 would recommend.
    Arynn / Student traveler
    LaSalle,CO / Posted on June 27, 2017
  9. DC Tour

    It was amazing and everybody should do it. The tour guides really took care of us and made sure we saw the best DC has to offer. I felt safe in evertthing we did.
    Ljhs2018 / Student traveler
    Lincoln, IL / Posted on June 27, 2017
  10. great trip

    very educational, fun, exciting, many first time experiences
    Emster / Student traveler
    port st joe , Fl / Posted on June 22, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?