Reviews are provided by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews.

Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language. On 8/6/2013, our name changed from EF Smithsonian Student Travel to EF Explore America, thus any mention of our previous name can be considered EF Explore America.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
828 reviewed Washington, D.C.: The Capital Tour
5 stars
567
4 stars
183
3 stars
42
2 stars
21
1 star
15
  1. History Comes Alive

    Everything about our DC trip was magical! From the time we stepped on the bus to the time we stepped off the bus, everything was incredible. Seeing the Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials in person brought all the history my students have learned off the page of a book and into meaningful context in their lives. Being in the great city of Washington DC and to experience history come alive before their eyes inspires me to be a better teacher and make their education more valuable.
    NNteacher / Group leader
    Morocco, IN / Posted on May 19, 2015
  2. DC always delightful

    This was my fourth trip with EF Explore America to Washington DC. As always, I felt taken care of while my students had an incredible experience. I could not be more pleased with our overall experience and the value of this trip for my students. Thanks for showing my students all the amazing sights that our Nation's capital has to offer!
    Peeps / Group leader
    Spokane, WA / Posted on April 23, 2014
  3. Amazing tour!

    This tour was great! We got to see so much! I met new friends! The tour directors were amazing so friendly and knowledge full! Great tour overall!
    Terb / Student traveler
    Portland, Oregon / Posted on March 21, 2017
  4. Unforgettable

    Wheels down in Houston. The souvenirs packed, the camera roll full, and our bodies left with nothing but exhaustion. A couple of daring Texans, end an unforgettable tour of our nations beautiful capital, with a smile and a newfound burst of patriotism. The last 5 days we have endured below freezing temperatures with winds that sliced our skin and reddened our noses, but we marched on, down the icy coated city blocks, cherished memorials and iconic monuments. This trip has changed my world in more ways than I can possibly imagine and I hope it did the same for my fellow adventuring peers. My comfort zone was breached then nonexistent as I hopped on a plane with teens I barely knew, being the first big trip taken without my family or friends. It turned out to be completely unforgettable and an utterly amazing experience. Not only did I make friends from Iowa but also developed stronger friendships with the kids that went with me from my school. Through this EF tour I grew, from the knowledge of american history our tour guide fed me to the memories I made both on the sidewalks of D.C. and the competitive card games in the hotel lobby once the day ended. It's bitter sweet to be back home but I'm very sure that won't be the last EF tour I'll be taking. Thank you so very much.
    Brit / Student traveler
    Texas / Posted on March 20, 2017
  5. Super Trip!

    What a great experience for our students! We had a small group from Iowa and were combined with 2 high school groups from Texas. The most rewarding part of the trip was seeing the bonds form between our 3 groups. Our tour guide, Barb, was great to work with. We had to deal with a storm that came in and threatened to upset our schedule, but she assured us we would have a fun time no matter what happened. Luckily the storm barely grazed us and we were able to go forward with the plans after a delay to the start of the day. Because other groups had to cancel their tours, Barb was able to get tickets to the Holocaust Museum that had been an uncertainty on our schedule. Barb was very accommodating in trying to meet the needs of the separate groups when we had slightly different interests (changing dinner arrangements when 1 school wanted to go to Hard Rock, allowing some of the group to go to the Natural History Museum instead of Air and Space). Our bus driver, Megan, was also superb, always being where we needed her to be, driving safely in the snow/ice, and navigating some very narrow streets with expertise!

    Highlights for me were Mount Vernon, the Holocaust Museum and the Ghost Tour. A great experience all the way around!
    jheiple / Adult traveler
    Dunkerton, IA / Posted on March 20, 2017
  6. Great time

    Glenn was an excellent tour guide. I would have liked more time at the locations and better meal options.
    DanDan / Adult traveler
    Tyler, Texas / Posted on March 20, 2017
  7. Making Awesome Memories With My Students

    Overall, we had an awesome experience in Washington D.C.!! We loved every minute from beginning to end.
    Sahara / Group leader
    Weslaco, Texas / Posted on March 20, 2017
  8. Amazing experience

    The tour guides made everything much easier. From arriving at Regan airport to departing was so much easier with them there to help. Sandra and Tiffany were the best guides anyone could've asked for.
    Unit181 / Student traveler
    Iowa / Posted on March 20, 2017
  9. Unforgettable!

    The most amazing thing I have ever done. I am so glad I was able to experience this trip. The only thing I would have changed was to be able to see more museums. But, other than that I can't think of a single negative.
    Kathleen / Student traveler
    Aurora, co / Posted on March 13, 2017
  10. This trip was great!

    I am 15 and this was my first time ever going to Washington D.C. I was expecting to have a average trip though it was completely amazing. Me and my travel group traveled from Florida by plane and were instantly picked up at the airport. Even though the trip was only 3 days, me and my travel group visited so many places that we got up in the morning at 8 am and got back to the hotel at 10 pm. This could be good and bad depending on your normal sleep scedule.
    rswizzle / Student traveler
    Bradenton, Florida / Posted on February 12, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?